Bronchitis

Burn down the quiet corners of my mind

An escape, turning down offers of time to be kind

And so I reach for the abandoned ghosts

Of you, of me, of the things I loved the most

 

But are no more.

 

A place where I can’t wake

The hours of ethereal and vague

I aimlessly float

Through endless shades of grey

 

I cry, a cracked transmission

A long forgotton call

Worlds where I cannot live

To be no world at all

 

Smallest hours never leave

Lilting memories caressing the edges of darkness, we grieve

A crazed mind, scattered wrecks to find

I’m alive, she cried

Retreating through seeping poisonous time

 

A nightly exorcism;

Alone with monsters and memories

Eating me alive

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

